Montgomery & District 1908 (Map 165)

Alan Godfrey Maps

Montgomery & District 1908  (Map 165)
Montgomery & District 1908  (Map 165)
Cover image
Montgomery & District 1908  (Map 165)
Mapping sample.
  Alan Godfrey Maps 
Folded Map 
Old Ordnance Survey Maps One Inch to One Mile 


(GBP) (Check your currency)

Buy alan_godfrey_maps

These maps normally cover an area of about 18 miles by 12 miles and are especially good at showing railways, roads and canals, and at giving a broad view of a wider area. Each includes an introduction and a more detailed map of a small town or village.

This One Inch to the Mile map covers a border area divided between Montgomeryshire and Shropshire, with a small area of Radnorshire included to the SW. Coverage stretches from Newtown eastward to Norbury and Lydbury North, and from Montgomery itself southward to Clun. This is hilly country, and hills include Cilfaesty Hill, Bryn Gydfa, Black Mountain, Corndon Hill. Apart from Newtown, the towns are tiny affairs: Clun, Montgomery, Bishops Castle with its celebrated railway. On the reverse is a large scale, detailed map of Montgomery or Trefaldwyn.

It is not possible to list the many hamlets, farmsteads and other topographical features shown on these maps. However, you might find it useful if we here list the majority of the principal villages and church parishes that are included on this map.
Montgomeryshire: Church Stoke, Hyssington, Kerry, Llandyssil, Llanllwchaiarn, Llanmerewig, Montgomery, Newtown, Snead.
Radnorshire: Beguildy.
Shropshire: Bettws-y-crwyn, Bishops Castle, Clun, Clunbury, Lydbury North, Lydham, Mainstone, More, Norbury.

Often purchased with Montgomery & District 1908 (Map 165) .....

Newtown / Y Drenewydd 1902 (Montgomeryshire Sheet 36.15) - OUT OF PRINT  £ 3.00